Why I Didn’t Install Ubuntu

Ubuntu is a popular Linux distribution. It’s the most user friendly and a very heavily supported open source operating system. It’s what Linux newbies (like myself) install.

ubuntu-12.10-banshee-media-player

I definitely liked it when I worked with it in school, but the OS is terrible for laptops. Here’s why:

  1. It’s a battery hog. It’ll eat all of the battery power it can take. Jupiter, the famous power management application, is no longer supported and so it was taken off the Ubuntu market.
  2. It overheats my laptop. Like I said, Jupiter is no longer supported, so that’s never going to get fixed.
  3. For some reason, my settings don’t stay the same. Each time I reboot my laptop, everything is there: my account, background and customization, but my power settings, brightness settings and other things such as my Unity Tweak settings do not stay the same.
  4. It looks a lot like the Mac OS X user interface. I just don’t like it. Period.

I am hoping for some more apps similar to Jupiter that can help my battery life. Get this: when I had Ubuntu on my laptop, it only ran approximately one (1) hour on a 96% battery percentage. Usually, on my Windows 7, I’d be using my laptop for at least five to six hours.

tg battery

At some point, when Hannah Patricia doesn’t perform her abilities (I’d say that would be five years from now), I’ll be getting a System 76 or something like Lenovo or ASUS.

serval1

If you have any suggestions for a battery friendly distro, comment below!

Keep Chewing!

WriTechnical

Thanks for reading the tagline!

A Geek's Notepad

01101000 01100101 01101100 01101100 01101111 00100000 01110111 01101111 01110010 01101100 01100100 00001010

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares news about TED Talks and TED Conferences.

My Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Denny Sinnoh

Denny Sinnoh's "Akihabara Starlight"

The Gamer.

My blog is about gaming.

Sincerely Pekky

My name is Pekky and this is a site sincerely from me!

Around The Writing Rainbow

In my corner of the world...

MoviesShouldNotSuck

Let me tell you what to think

Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Finally, a site dedicated to her in English!

STRICTLY GADGETS

New & Used gadgets you can trust

Cappuccino Gaming

Games from the perspective of a caffeine addicted misanthropic girl.

`The Penguin' says...

From mailing lists to the Web.